Three Haiku By Friends

sowing buckwheat
the winter green to be plowed under
for spring

       Merrill Ann Gonzales

The shortest day–
I arrange hyacinth bulbs
in a green bowl

       Carol Purington

Blue and turquoise tears
sparkle on the Christmas tree…
card from cherished friend

       Charles A. Waugaman

Credits:

Merrill and Carol posted their haiku in the Comments for my “winter wheat” haiku post (12/13/2011).  They are friends through the haiku journals and I treasure their books as well.

Charles’  haiku is from a book I published for him under the name “Elin Grace Publishing.”  The title is WITHIN The Circle Of Seasons (2003, Copyright Charles A. Waugaman).   It is no longer in print.

In the spirit of keeping Spring in our hearts in Winter, I’ll close this post with a favorite May photo by Karl.