Walking On Water: Reflections On Faith And Art – By Madeleine L’Engle

Walking On Water, by Madeleine L’Engle, is an important book for me.  It was published first in 1980 by Harold Shaw Publishers.  Recently, I also bought the paperback version, published by North Point Press, A division of Farrar, Straus and Giroux in New York.  So if you have not read the book and are interested, it’s still in print.  Your library may have a copy too.

Rather than write a review, I thought I’d share here and there the concepts I learned from Madeleine.  She taught me to “serve the work.” 

Here’s a quote from page 23 (both editions):

If the work comes to the artist and says, “Here I am, serve me,” then the job of the artist, great or small, is to serve.  The amount of the artist’s talent is not what it is about.

As I grow older, I find it helpful to reread books like Walking On Water.  I need to relearn old lessons within the challenges of current times.  Or perhaps simply rest with the voice of a beloved author. 

www.madeleinelengle.com