I love to reread books . . .

I love to reread books I first read years ago. 

New thoughts about what the writers were–are–saying occur to me, perhaps because I’m the same age, or older now, than they were when they wrote their poetry and prose.

At the same time, I don’t believe I completely missed what they were saying.

Rather their words helped create the strength to “see me through” when my turn to experience some of the same events, in my own way, would arrive.

What a beautiful mystery.  Language.  “In the beginning was the Word…”  John 1: 1

Photo of roses by Karl.

8 thoughts on “I love to reread books . . .

  1. The only book I’ve ever reread is the Bible. I never have enough time, it seems, for reading all the other books I’d like to explore. I like what you said about what we read preparing us for going through times although each of us has a very unique path to follow and there can only be sign posts along the way… Something else, something holy is within each soul that is our true teacher I think.

    Like

    1. Dear Merrill, Thank you for your thoughts. I find the Psalms are always new, no matter how many times I reread them. Often I return to other books of the Bible, but I don’t know the history as well as when I taught Sunday School. Surely agree we are all unique, no two stories alike. Grateful for all we have in common…Blessings, Ellen

      PS For some reason your comment showed up in my Spam–this has happened to others, so I know to check for this when I review things in the morning.

      Like

      1. Hi, Ellen, My spam is on automatic delete…so anything that goes into it is gone before I see it. Thanks for the blessings… I can use all the blessings I can get. Right now there’s a plumber trying to put my bathroom sink back together again….with tropical rain storms going on outside. Good thing for faith.

        Like

  2. I have a list of books that I reread – I think because I found comfort in their words during difficult times. Some of the books are silly and some more profound, but all helped me thru. I just read again a favorite childrens book The Magic Summer.
    Have a great day, Ellen! K

    Like

      1. I should have told you its was written by Noel Streatfield. She also wrote the ‘shoe’ books – The Skating Shoes, Dancing Shoes etc. I read The Magic Summer the year it was published – 65 I think – and it has been one of my favorites since – just a sweet story- full of adventure with a family of children. I hope you can find it at your library! K

        Like

Comments are closed.