Translations Of The Psalms

Image: antiqueclipart.com

As you know, I enjoy reading The Psalms aloud in various translations.  The King James Version (KJV) is in the Public Domain.

A book I have here for easy reference is THE POETS’ BOOK OF PSALMS: The Complete Psalter as Rendered by Twenty-Five Poets from the Sixteenth to the Twentieth Centuries.  Compiled, Edited, and Introduced by Laurance Wieder (1995; Harper Collins, New York, NY).  This book includes all 150 Psalms in the KJV.  Since I’ve had this beautiful book for so long, some pages are held together by tape. To me, this represents that God holds me together.  I reread and think back over the years, and say, “Yes God, I believe You. I trust You more and more. You are good and faithful.”

I also enjoy reading The MESSAGE: The Bible in Contemporary Language, copyright 2002 by Eugene F. Peterson.  http://www.NavPress.com

We are blessed, as these are just a few of the Bible versions available.  I enjoy referring to several, and also find that helps me with my own language.  During times when I have not been able to write, reading The Psalms and short poetry forms like haiku helped me a great deal.  I’m just beginning…

I began my practice of reading The Psalms over and over in the mid-1990s.  This is a place of rest for me now.  Deeper than writing for me.

5 thoughts on “Translations Of The Psalms

  1. I usually read a psalm and one chapter of proverbs each day…every month…its medicine for my soul…and the light of the wisdom found in both never dissipates into the darkness! Very nice post Ellen…God bless!

    Like

Comments are closed.