Thanks and Service

bible_proverbs__image_5_sjpg1584

I finished Ann Voskamp’s new book, one thousand gifts DEVOTIONAL (Zondervan, 2012, copyright by author).

And I began reading again. Counting my blessings is something I can do, whether rested or tired. In her Devotion 4, Ann quotes Chesterton, who said that “thanks are the highest form of thought.” (Her book includes careful reference notes for sources.)

Then she wrote,” Why would we ever tire of bending low in thanking – thanking – this highest form of thinking?” She added,”This is what all the great artists and thinkers do – they stay awake to the wonders of God’s world” (p.24).

Years ago, I remember a sermon by Stuart Briscoe, at Elmbrook Church in Brookfield, Wisconsin. He said, “The way up is down.” I remember when Jill Briscoe said in a sermon that sometimes people wanted to be standing where she was, and she said service begins behind the scenes.

When I was serving as a caregiver at my mother’s kitchen sink – not the teacher in front of a class anymore – I thought, “A cup of water in Jesus’ name . . .”

All the same work. Truly.

Stuart also said, “The ground is level at the foot of the Cross.”

I’m looking forward to Lent and Easter.

The image is from http://christianimagesource.com.

Ann’s site: http://onethousandgifts.com.

6 thoughts on “Thanks and Service

Comments are closed.