Sarah Young “Learning to be content . . .”

“Learning to be content is both a discipline and an art: You train your mind to trust My Sovereign ways with you–bowing before my mysterious, infinite intelligence.  You search for Me in the details of your day, all the while looking for good to emerge from trouble and confusion.  You accept the way things are without losing hope for a better future.”

by Sarah Young
Jesus Today
Thomas Nelson

2012 Author Copyright

This selection is from the 94th devotion in this book, page 218.  As many of you know, I mentioned this book in a recent post.  If Sarah Young is a new author for you, you can see she writes from her expression of God’s point of view, from her life of prayer.  This gives the book a personal feeling.  Each devotion is on one page, and then on the page opposite the devotion, there are Bible verses to support and further encourage.  For this devotion, the Scriptures cited and reprinted are 1 Corinthians 7:17, Philippians 4:12, and Romans 11:33-36.

I like this book design very much.  The book is small with a royal blue cover.  I like that when I am resting, I don’t have to turn a page, in order to read one devotion.  These details matter, I found, for someone not feeling well, a tired caregiver, during a busy day – for all kinds of reasons.

So much thought went into Jesus Today.  I sense God’s love and friendship.

Sarah Young includes different translations of the Bible.  As I type this today, the entire Bible in the Message translation is on a shelf by my computer.  I love the King James Version, and am also reading in other translations.  I love to study – yet I find a small book with prayerful thoughts and Bible verses is exactly what I need often now.