John 15 The Vine and Acrostic for Lent

It feels as if nature is waking up from the severe winter, even though we may still have plenty of cold weeks and snow.  The thought occurred to me as I read my Bible this morning, watching the morning light and gentle wind in the evergreens, that this winter has been like an early Lent in a way.  The beginning of spring is always a reminder of Easter and eternity.

So perhaps as Lent 2014 begins on March 5 (looked up the date just now), I will be able to keep some of the beauty and stillness of this winter in my heart.  I would like to read the Gospels as I do the Psalms.  I remember John 15 says that He is the vine and we are the branches.  Here is a quote.

“I am the vine, ye are the branches:
He that abideth in me, and I in him,
the same bringeth forth much fruit:
for without me ye can do nothing.”

John 15: 5 (KJV)

My acrostic for LENT is one of your favorite poems on my blogs:

L  ove
E  verlasting
N  ot
T emporary

Blessings, Ellen

2 thoughts on “John 15 The Vine and Acrostic for Lent

Comments are closed.