“Thou tellest my wanderings . . .”

butterfly_retouched_by_Amanda

Thou tellest my wanderings:
put thou my tears into thy bottle:
are they not in thy book?

Psalm 56: 8 (KJV)

“Let not your heart be troubled . . .”

John 14: 1a (KJV)

butterfly_graphic_2

As I create posts, I copy verses and sometimes drafts of poems into a notebook.  Then I type the posts.   Sometimes I go directly to a post.   The Bible verses are always new – God’s Word.

John 1:1 says, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”  This verse continues to inspire me, that God loves language and writes to us in His Word.  He created language, and we cannot ever reach the end of its beauty.

When I was a teacher, and taught reading skills, I always felt that was spiritual work, though I was not teaching Bible lessons directly.  I felt that teaching children to read would help them search for themselves.   I also taught Sunday School, and there the goal was to help the children feel comfortable with their own Bibles.  Reading levels varied, and no one was required to read aloud – only to follow along silently.

As I continue to read the Psalms, and also spend more time in the Gospels for Lent, I’ll post here in a spontaneous way, as I “compare and contrast” my readings.

This verse picture is courtesy of antiqueclipart.com.  The butterflies are from wpclipart.com.
lord-bless

7 thoughts on ““Thou tellest my wanderings . . .”

  1. Ellen, what you wrote about your thoughts as you taught children to read was moving. Thank you for posting it! Carol

    Like

Comments are closed.