the word of our God – Isaiah 40: 8

spray-lily-valley

I thought more about teaching Sunday School (1981 – 1993).  As the elementary children read from their Bibles, they began comparing different translations.  They would say, “Mine says . . .”  That led to discussions about words and meanings.

Isaiah is another book I often read for comfort and inspiration.  After our long and severe winter, this verse surely is vivid.

The grass withereth, the flower fadeth:  but the word of our God shall stand for ever.

Isaiah 40: 8 (KJV)

Today it is 20 degrees, which is warm weather here these days.  The sun is bright.  A beautiful day.

spray-lily-valleyThe new flowers in spring will also sing Easter, which we know is where Lent leads.  Hard to imagine not knowing how the story “ended,” at the time – which led to a new beginning.

The first year after my mother’s passing, 2004, the perennials pictured Resurrection.  That is a special comfort memory.

My observance of Lent is quiet and personal.  I’m not teaching now, only telling my stories.   It seems for me Lent is about healing, which I will always need this side of Heaven.  A day with a little more time in His Word is a better day; and if for some reason I can’t read some day, I hope I have enough verses stored in my heart.

The lily of the valley is courtesy of antiqueclipart.com.

4 thoughts on “the word of our God – Isaiah 40: 8

Comments are closed.