Psalm 23

The Daily Post prompt yesterday was Finite Creatures.  When did I realize we are mortal?  I think on some level I always knew.  My mother’s mother died a year before I was born, to the day.  Mom always remembered her mother on my birthday.  She baked a cake too.  Her father also died before I was born.

My parents spoke of everyone, and my memories include these conversations.  My father’s father died when I was in elementary school.  His mother died in 1973.  I also remember Bible stories.  My mother lived to be in her 80s, and she truly did not expect a long life.  She had lost many people, including my dad when she was in her 60s.  She loved literature and often quoted from novels and poetry.  I miss our conversations.  We shall meet again.

praying the Psalms . . .
other times and places
cross my mind
and I am blessed
by God’s love
and care
once again

Psalm 23 (KJV)
A Psalm of David

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of my enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.