Three Autumn Poems From Time Of Singing

Today I placed some past Fall issues of Time Of Singing near a chair, so I could reread as I look forward to the Fall 2015 issue.

I am grateful that these three poems were published in past issues.

*

late November
sun fills a glass
for a time

(TOS, Fall 2013)

*

how gentle the wind
in predawn rose light
after the harvest moon
I begin October
with small and growing hopes

(TOS, Fall 2012)

*

WINTER IN OCTOBER
For Paul F. Brandt

Another death
a sudden death
this autumn of
winter in October.

Condolences pour in
your service strengthens
and your body is laid to rest
in beloved Wisconsin land.

Now the grief begins
and how else could it be?

Surely a few people
will remain with us
in our loving sorrow
like the golden leaves
left on the tree
outside my window
that will turn green again . . .

(TOS, Fall 2008)

*

Ellen Grace Olinger