Praying The Psalms

While the Psalms have always been a part of my life, I began praying them in a consistent and personal way over 20 years ago.

I wrote about my story, the Psalms, and short poetry forms in my post at Curtis Dunlap’s site:  Ellen Olinger – Three Questions.  Three of my best haiku are in this post.

In early December 2009, Curtis Dunlap featured “Deeper Places,” which was published first in Time Of Singing (2003):  Poets and Poems – Ellen Olinger.

Recently, I was blessed with another birthday.  I am 62 now, by God’s grace.  My 40th birthday was in the hospital, and my life had to change to be well again.  This life has everything to do with the art that seems to bless others.

I rest in God’s plan and His mystery.  When I was younger, I was able to give 20 years to special education.

I look forward to some simple posts here, where I revisit verses that held me together and gave me hope.  A time of renewal.

This verse that I shared yesterday is one I held close during my recovery.

Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord. Psalm 27: 14 (KJV)

Gratitude.  There are always new challenges and lessons.  I hope to always keep growing and learning.  May the Psalms continue to be my prayers.

The Psalms are honest and emotional, and they lead to praise and deeper trust in God.

Blessings, Ellen