one-word prompt INCOMPLETE

The one-word prompt today is INCOMPLETE.

My first thought is remembering my father’s passing in March 1983.  I was 29 years old and in graduate school.  I still remember the kindness of my professors, who gave me incompletes in my courses.  My mother lived in another state.  I finished my degree, as I also felt this would honor my father.  I love to learn, and school was a good structure for me during this time of early loss.

Now I am much older and I have not been able to finish everything.  Illness and other losses have been part of my life as well.

Sometimes some work needs to rest, as we wait for others to complete their part, learn new skills, wait for the right time.   Discipline, mystery, trust, practice, prayer . . . all seem to be a part of creativity, in my experience.

May God grant us the wisdom to order our days, to know His plan.  Always learning!

I am still in touch with some professors and fellow students from those years.

SUNRISE AFTER THE STORM

sunrise
after the storm . . .
glistening lake-waves
branches coated with ice
and a crow cawing

after the storm
driftwood washes to shore
from other places . . .
what we let go
what we keep

for Harold A. Borgh (1915 – 1983)

Ellen Grace Olinger

4 thoughts on “one-word prompt INCOMPLETE

Comments are closed.