Discover Challenge – Perspective

100_4040

For Perspective – “We each inhabit a specific vantage point from which we blog. What’s yours?”

*

In December 2009, Karl helped me begin my first blog, Poems From Oostburg, Wisconsin.  One of my goals was to share my poems from print journals, in a new way; and I also wanted to thank the editors and publishers.  Perhaps new people would discover their work as well.  The small press journals and books are labors of love.  People devote countless hours as volunteers.

I also wanted to tell my story of  some achievements, chronic illness and major surgery, then the privilege of helping with my mother’s care for years.  She was called Home in 2004.  After her passing, we had to rebuild our old home from the inside.  We volunteered at a local nursing home for three years.  So much of my story is in blog posts.

My personal goal is to offer hope and encouragement.  I am in my 60s now.  I am honored that the readers of blogs span several decades.  I can say that I continue to pray the Psalms and write.  My professional goals are complete now.  I am content.  I hope to make a few small books from my blogs, as this way of being creative inspired a lot of new art.

Many ways to be creative and make a contribution.  I learned that being flexible is an important part of happiness.  Health first.  Enough rest.  I had to learn a new way of living to be well.

In terms of location, we have always lived in the Midwest.  Here by Lake Michigan in Wisconsin, we have four distinct seasons.  Summer may only feel like summer for about 6 weeks.  I love the North.  When I was not well, one day I looked out a window and saw old weathered trees.  The hard years were clear.  Yet they were and are so beautiful and interesting, for all they weathered.  Each tree unique.  Each story, every person.

*

As many readers know, trees inspire many of my poems.  Here are a few from past years:

trees in bloom
some in pink
a color Mom loved
to see me wear
picture Resurrection

*

willows weep and yet
how strong the branches
that hold their tears

weeping willows
reach towards ground
humility

*

evergreen trees
with their branches
in May winds
through another
winter and green
and growing

resilient

some broken branches

interesting shapes

shelter for birds
the years show
and they are
beautiful as
they bless

*

Psalm 1: 3 (KJV):

And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water,
that bringeth forth his fruit in his season;
his leaf also shall not wither;
and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

*

Ellen Grace Olinger

100_2378

2 thoughts on “Discover Challenge – Perspective

  1. Hello from Michigan! We the up North too. Your post inspired me. I have similar pics of Lake Michigan, totally still. We all know about wave heights and small craft advisories!

    Like

Comments are closed.